monday must-reads.

I need to preface this post by saying: IF YOU HAVEN’T HEARD OF JOHN GREEN, YOU HAVE A SERIOUS PROBLEM. SERIOUSLY, GO RIGHT NOW. JUST GO TO BARNES AND NOBLE AND BUY ALL OF HIS BOOKS. RIGHT NOW. I’LL WAIT.

You have his books? (Looking For Alaska, Paper Towns, An Abundance of Katherines, The Fault in Our Stars, Willy Grayson, Will Grayson…) Okay? Okay. Good. Now this post can begin.

John Green is my second favorite author, and possibly in a tie for my second favorite-person-that-I don’t-know ever. (In case you don’t know me and are confused at who my first is… It’s JK Rowling. Obviously. And John Green is in a tie with Andrew McMahon (Jack’s Mannequin) for my second favorite-person-that-I-don’t know ever.)

This author may be the only author that I recommend to every person that I come into contact with, and I do it with a weird zeal. If you know me, chances are I have tried to get you to read these books.

I think a quote from one of John Green’s books can sum up how I feel about all of his books…

Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”
John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

It’s crazy, and really awesome that a 35-year-old man can write young adult books that have the capability to make me cry like a little girl that doesn’t get to wear her snow boots in 100 degree weather, and by consequence can’t go to the Cabbage Patch Kids factory because she threw a tantrum. (Yes, this really happened to me.)

His words are so pretty, beautiful and all kinds of wonderful. If you don’t believe me, here are some:

  • “I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.” – TFIOS
  • “The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive.” -LFA
  • “My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.” – TFIOS
  • “That’s the thing about pain…it demands to be felt.” – TFIOS
  • “I wanted so badly to lie down next to her on the couch, to wrap my arms around her and sleep. Not fuck, like in those movies. Not even have sex. Just sleep together in the most innocent sense of the phrase. But I lacked the courage and she had a boyfriend and I was gawky and she was gorgeous and I was hopelessly boring and she was endlessly fascinating. So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was hurricane.” -LFA
  • “It is so hard to leave—until you leave. And then it is the easiest goddamned thing in the world.” – PT

Okay. Now you’re listening, right? So not only is this man an incredible writer, he is also hilarious. Ladies and gentleman, I give you John Green.

He is also one half of the VlogBrothers, where for a year John Green and Hank Green gave up any “textual” communication and they spoke exclusively through video blogs. And they are awesome. If you ever need some rainy day entertainment, they have over 1,000 videos.

(youtube.com/vlogbrothers.)


Also, John Green & Hank Green fans are known as nerdfighters. According to Urban Dictionary:

A nerdfighter is a person who is proud to be nerdy and intelligent, and who fights to decrease WorldSuck. Nerdfighters are not composed of cells and tissue, but instead made entirely of awesome. Nerdfighters are known to perform their Happy dances when they are joyful, and each Happy dance is unique to its respective Nerdfighter. Nerdfighters are diverse in their hobbies, which can range from writing Nerdfighter songs to playing D&D. Nerdfighters have also been described as someone who is “Outgoing, intelligent and awesome enough to accept nerd as a compliment”. The polar opposite of a Nerdfighter is a Decepticon.

So if I still haven’t yet convinced you of how awesome John Green is, then you are probably hopeless.

DFTBA.

-earthtocassie

 

 

 

 

One thought on “monday must-reads.

  1. Jobelle says:

    I can definitely, without a doubt, feel your excitement while writing this post. Which is not a bad thing by the way! 🙂 I also like John Green and have been “stalking” him even before I read his books. sssshhh…..

Leave a Reply

