our hearts are heavy burdens we shouldn’t have to bear alone.

Yesterday I watched video clips of my Dad’s heart regaining blood flow after a heart attack. It was surreal, and eye-opening.

And although my Dad is okay, and he is going to be okay, this whole experience has further opened my eyes to how precious life is. And how quickly things can happen. I was having breakfast with him on President’s Day, and five days later I get a call that he is in the emergency room.

dadWhen you are younger, you never think of your parents as anything less that invincible heroes that have no kryptonite. Over my 24 years, I have watched my Dad fix everything. When anything was broken, I called my Dad. I skinned my knee on the concrete? Dad had a band-aid at the ready. My car broke down? My Dad was there waiting as the tow-truck pulled in and he fixed it without a second word. My heart was broken? My Dad held me until I ran out of tears.

Even when it came to himself, I watched my Dad go through some of the hardest things that life could throw at you, and he came out of them a better person. Always stronger. dad2

This weekend I watched my hero turn into a human. I have never taken my Dad for granted a day in my life, and I never will. He is literally the strongest person I have ever met, and I am so lucky to have him as my Dad.

P.S. (My wise words for the day) – Any time you feel “I love you” pulling at your lips, just say it. Don’t miss a chance to tell someone you love them. Seriously. Just don’t hold it in.

-earthtocassie

3 thoughts on “our hearts are heavy burdens we shouldn’t have to bear alone.

  1. Wow! I remember feeling the exact same way about my dad. He was always there for me whenever I needed him. Man do I miss him. Never a day goes by when I don’t miss him. so do yourself a favor and don’t regret doing something that you always wanted to do with him but thought…I will do it next week or next year.
    Thinking of you now and awlays sweet girl! Love you! ( and hug your dad for me!!! )

  2. Cassie – your abiity to express your thoughts and emotions goes way beyond your years – always remember something in your life experiences, We all have “heroes” but we also have others that mold us into who we are and those people also deserve our attentuion, recognition & love.. As your Aunt Cyndi said don’t delay whatever it is you want or feel as we are not guaranteed another day that is up to God. Love you bunches – Grandma – :3

Leave a Reply

