i’ve got a ringing in my ear.

And it hasn’t gone away since Saturday night. Along with the ringing in my ear, I also have a speaker burn on my left knee, a bruised collar bone and a sore elbow. I feel like I got beat up. But I guess I came looking for a fight as I walked into Chain Reaction to watch The Wonder Years final installment of their epic 24-Hour Tour.

twy  In support of their newest album The Greatest Generation (out tomorrow), the band started out their tour in Philly on Friday night, immediately packed up and performed at 1 a.m. in New York, hopped on a flight and performed in Chicago at 10 a.m. on Saturday morning, and then boarded a flight to Anaheim for the fourth show in 24 hours.

-thewonderyearsband

There was a three-hour delay for the flight from Chicago to Southern California, so by the time the band took the stage it was close to 10:30 p.m. and I had never been front row to a show that had no barricade between the audience and the band. I had my hands on the stage, and then the music started and so did the kicks to the head. It was the liveliest, craziest, most dedicated fan base that I have ever witnessed at a show (and I’ve been to more than I can count).

twy4

 

While I was sure that I was going to suffocate during most of the show, I couldn’t stay angry at the people constantly pressed into my body or pushing over my head because with all of the breath left in me, I was screaming the words to each song. There was a point in the show where I had so many people climbing up my back behind me that I couldn’t see anything except for Soupy’s feet, and I held onto him to keep my face from being pushed into the stage. And there was also just one perfect moment where he was singing in front of me and I was actually able to lift my head and look at him, I had my hand on his chest and he held the microphone down right near me and the girl next to me and I just screamed the words into it. It was epic.

-facebook.com/charleseptingrockphotography

-facebook.com/charleseptingrockphotography

I have this weird pride I am carrying around about the fact that I was one of probably less than 300 people in California who got to hear three of The Greatest Generation’s songs live three days before the album was even released. And the album is flawless. Front to back perfection.

Do yourself a favor and listen to it all the way through, in order.

Stand outs for me:

  • There, There
  • Dismantling Summer
  • A Raindance in Traffic
  • I Just Want To Sell Out My Funeral

Let’s be real… I have a soft spot for all of them.

Here’s a video from the show, too. So you can pretend you are front row with me. 🙂

 

 

P.S. This show was so good that I can’t even articulate it into a blog post, so I am sorry that this sucks. It just needed to be documented.

P.S.S If you are interested, you should buy the new album while you are at it. I promise you it will be the best $9.99 you have ever spent. Ever.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-greatest-generation/id626543616

 

 

– earthtocassie

Leave a Reply

