on new york city.

So I fell in love a lot these past four days. I fell in love with buildings (big surprise there) and a borough and Broadway (actually off-Broadway but that isn’t important) and a band.  Oh, hey. Those all start with B’s!

Anyway, the architecture in NYC is beyond anything. I think I will have always missed my calling to study architecture because I always get attached to buildings and structures and consider them to be romantic. But let me tell you. There is nothing like looking at the Chrysler Building lit up at night. It is probably the most beautiful building in the world (except for Big Ben, for me). For 11 months before the Empire State Building was built, the Chrysler Building was the tallest building in the world. Today, it is still the world’s tallest brick building.

4

photo credit: 500px.com

empire

The buildings in NYC all are unique, and even simple apartment buildings are masterpieces. I still can’t get over it. I got to visit Top of The Rock during my visit and I was able to get a great panorama of the city (more pictures in a blog to follow!).

nyc-panI always thought that when I visited New York City finally that I would be obsessed with Manhattan and the Upper East Side. Yes, I absolutely loved Manhattan, and I loved my visit to the FIVE STORY Tiffany & Co. that Audrey Hepburn filmed at, but Brooklyn really stuck with me. I absolutely loved the vibe of Brooklyn, and the bridge was perfection.

brooklynOkay, so BROADWAY. I knew that I would like the show that we had chosen to go to “Potted Potter” because clearly I have an obsession with all things Harry Potter, and I have been obsessed since I was 11, but I had no idea that it would be my favorite part of the trip. “Potted Potter” is a 70-minute condensed parody of all seven Harry Potter books performed by two guys, Dan & Jeff. It was probably the funniest thing I have ever experienced in my life. So funny that I was crying for most of the 70 minutes, and I considered taking in a matinee of the same show the next day. There was even a live game of Quidditch, and if that doesn’t excite you, then you must be a muggle.

pottedAnd finally I fell in love with a band. Imagine Dragons. Normally, I am not a girl who is interested in the mainstream, but sometimes the mainstream gets it right. And Imagine Dragons is completely worth all of the hype and radio air time. I got the opportunity to see them live. For free. In Central Park. On Good Morning America. Three rows back. Yes. It was completely worth waking up at three in the morning, getting a cab and sitting in the dark for two hours and waiting for the sun to come up. Not only do they sound just as good live (better, actually) as they do on their album, but their use of drums is incredible. If you don’t listen to them, I highly recommend you start doing so.

imagineThat is my very condensed version of my trip to NYC. I am going to do a separate blog post about my stop at Ground Zero on the Fourth of July, so look out for that. 🙂

-earthtocassie

Leave a Reply

