on the nba champions.

It’s been over a year since I posted on here, so I thought it would be fitting to write about the recently crowned NBA champion Golden State Warriors.

11227883_10153142880498229_8415728643542545382_n

The Warriors will always have this really poetically wonderful place in my heart. It was because of that team that I learned that writing was something that I was not only passionate about, but that it was something that I might be kind of good at. I don’t know if all those who would consider themselves writers have that moment where they just know that writing is what they want to do, but I did.

My story started in the fifth grade. My elementary school was hosting a contest and the winner would win two tickets to the next Warriors home game. At that time, it wasn’t necessarily sports or basketball that I was passionate about, I think my main motivation was just that I wanted to write something. And I also just wanted to win something. The contest was that you could submit an essay detailing the reasons why you should win the pair of tickets. So I entered.

I wrote an essay about how much it would mean for my dad and I to be able to go to a game just the two of us and spend some time together. I wish I still had a copy of that essay somewhere. Content-wise, all I know is that I wrote it from my huge ten-year-old heart. I didn’t expect to win, but I had fun writing it.

We had our next assembly where the whole school came and sat cross legged on the Pine-Sol scented gym floor, and I was whispering back and forth with my friend when the time came for the principal to announce the winner of the contest.

I was awaiting the winner announcement as I looked around to see who might get the honor, when they announced my name. I. Won. My mind went blank with shock because I really didn’t think I would win. The principal announced my name one more time, and I stood up after being gestured to the front of the crowd. And right then, they asked me to read my essay in front of the school. So I did. And that was when I knew I wanted to write. It was the first time I felt like I was good at something.

And my prize was going to the Warriors game with my dad.

Flash forward 8 years later, and the Warriors would once again become even more artistically important to me.

I walked into the 2400 building on my first day of college, and I found my way to the Express Student Newspaper lab. I stepped in the room and instantly found my second home and easily some of the most influential mentors and teachers I had ever had.

image1

My first semester, I was very focused on trying my hand at feature writing with hopes of having a career in music writing. But as I got to know the advisers, I was taken under the wing of Marcus Thompson II, who at the time was the beat writer covering the Warriors for the Bay Area News Group. I read all of his stories. I listened to him talk about his writing process and his job. It sounded wonderful, and I thought I would try my hand at it. Enter my sports obsession. And my first column.

I fell in love with writing about sports, and I had the best teacher for doing so. I wrote about baseball, I wrote about basketball, I wrote about sports pop culture. I wrote profiles about school athletes, including a pair of basketball players who had fled to Livermore for refuge from Hurricane Katrina. Through sports, I fell in love with writing once again. I went to the Warriors Media Day as part of a field trip for Marcus’ news writing class. Our end goal was to come up with a story from the day.

While others crowded around the star player tables with the “real” journalists, I spent my time talking to a few D-League players, and I found my story. Marcus had a Warriors representative read through all of our submitted stories, and the winner would get this beautiful leather embossed binder with the Warriors logo.

And once again I won. And I once again was taken aback.

After college, I took a different route. I switched up from journalism to public relations. It was a great decision for me because I love working with media. And just a few months ago, I landed my dream job (not sports related, even though I dabbled in that field of PR too!). I am a book publicist now – which if you know me at all, you know it is a perfect fit for me. I am a book hoarder, and now that I work in books I think that it is socially acceptable for me to have as many books as I do.

Guess where my dream job is? You guessed it. Oakland.

And just a little over a month after I moved in my Warriors won the championship for the first time in 40 years.

Full circle? I think so.

Leave a Reply

